The Drakensberg Boys Choir School is situated in the Champagne Valley of the Central KwaZulu-Natal in Drakensberg. In its 45-year history, the school has grown considerably in both its student body and its facilities. The school was officially established in 1967 by John Tungay with the help of his family. Today the school is registered as an iIncorporated Association (not-for-profit) with a Board of Directors.

Since its establishment, the school has seen many different conductors and produced a number of successful musicians from the boys that have passed through the school. Notable conductors include Botes Gresse, Christian Ashley-Botha, Rudolf de Beer, and Juan Burgers. Former members of the choir have become prominent musicians, nationally and internationally, and include Deon van der Walt, Colin Lee, Clint van der Linde, Jacques Imbrailo, Nicholas Nicolaides, the Bala Brothers, Rory Rootenberg, and William Berger.

The school consists of approximately 100 boys, from Grade 4 to Grade 9, who have been selected through auditions held across the country. The boys have six academic periods, two music periods in the form of aural training and theory, as well as two hours of choir rehearsals every day. The choir performs an average of 40 concerts a year, which includes the weekly Wednesday concerts held in the Ken Mackenzie Auditorium on the school campus.